List of Prime Ministers of India

by Jay Vora
List of Prime Minister of India

The Prime Minister of India is referred to as the chief executive of the Government of India. In the parliamentary system of India, the constitution appoints the president as the head of India, is having the power to appoint Prime Minister as well as sworn in. There is a long list of the Prime Ministers of India since Independence, which we have discussed in this article for you.

Prime Ministers of India:

Prime Minister of India
List of Prime Minister of India

Prime Minister of India is the leader of any party Alliance who is having the majority in Lok Sabha. Since its independence in 1947, India has had 14 Prime Ministers to date. The first prime minister of India was from the Indian National Congress Party, and his name was Jawaharlal Nehru. He was sworn to his duty 15th August 1947, the same day when India achieved independence from British Raj. He served as Prime Minister until May 1964, and he is the longest-serving prime minister in the history of India. He served the country for 16 years and 286 days.

There were several Prime Ministers’ appointments in between, but most well-known prime ministers also include Indira Gandhi and Rajiv Gandhi. Indira Gandhi is the daughter of Nehru; she was appointed in the year of 1966. She was India’s first female prime minister and she was also elected as the leader of the Indian National Congress. She served the country for 11 years and 59 days. Rajiv Gandhi was India’s youngest prime minister and son of Indira Gandhi; he was appointed in the year of 1984. He served the country till the year 1989.

Also Read: Howdy Modi Highlights at Houston with PM Modi and President Trump

Currently, Narendra Modi is the 14th Prime minister of India and appointed for the second time due to the majority in Lok Sabha by Bhartiya Janata Party (NDA).

Prime Minister of India

Here is the complete list of all the Prime Ministers of India with their Party Name, Term of Office and Elected Constituency:

Name Party Term of Office Elected Constituency
Jawaharlal NehruIndian National Congress1947-1964
(16 years, 286 days)
Phulpur, Uttar Pradesh
Gulzarilal NandaIndian National Congress1964
(13 days)
Sabarkantha, Gujarat
Lal Bahadur Shastri
Indian National Congress1964-1966
(1 year, 216 days)
Allahabad, Uttar Pardesh
Gulzarilal NandaIndian National Congress1966
(13 days)
Sabarkantha, Gujarat
Indira Gandhi  Indian National Congress1966-1977 (11 years, 59 days) Rae Barelli, Uttar Pradesh
Morarji DesaiJanata Party1977-1979
(2 years, 126 days)
Surat, Gujarat
Charan SinghJanata Party (Secular) with INC1979-1980
(170 days)
Baghpat, Uttar Pradesh
Indira GandhiIndian National Congress (I)1980-1984 (4 years, 291 days)Medak, Andhra Pradesh
Rajiv GandhiIndian National Congress (I)1984-1989 (5 years, 32 days)Amethi, Uttar Pradesh
Viswanath Pratap SinghJanata Dal (National Front)1989-1990
(343 days)
Fatehpur, Uttar Pradesh
Chandra ShekharSamajwadi Janata Party with INC1990-1991
(223 days)
Ballia, Uttar Pradesh
P.V. Narasimha RaoIndian      National Congress (I)1991-1996 (4 years, 330 days)Nandyal, Andhra Pradesh
Atal Bihari VajpayeeBharatiya Janata Party1996
(16 days)
Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh
H.D. Deve GowdaJanata Dal (United Front)1996-1997
(324 days)
Rajya Sabha MP for Karnataka
Inder Kumar GujralJanata Dal (United Front)1997-1998
(332 days)
Rajya Sabha MP for Bihar
Atal Bihari VajpayeeBharatiya Janata Party1998-2004 (6 years, 64 days)Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh
Manmohan SinghIndian NationalCongress (UPA)2004-2014 (10 years, 4 days)Rajya Sabha MP for Assam
Narendra ModiBharatiya Janata Party (NDA)2014-PresentVaranasi, Uttar Pradesh


The chief executive is the prime leader of the country who look after the problems and issues of the country. We have gathered the complete information from different sources as well as form Election commission of India and posted them in this article for you. Share this informative article about the Prime Ministers of India with others, so that takes it to know about the complete list of prime ministers who were appointed for the service in India.

You may also like